h1

More on playing poker blind

April 24, 2008

Last night (mind you I was tired) all I did was play some more attempts at playing blind.

I found a small freeware program that will allow you to have a small picture file always on top, so what I do is load it twice and cover my cards and the area where, because I’m using play money tables right now, it shows what my hand is.

It’s still a very strange situation. I find myself impatient again, wanting to get in there and teach those players not to play so poorly. Stop limping in everything. Stop slowplaying every made hand. Stop underbetting. Stop betting at every un-bet pot. Stop limping with AA/KK/AK/QQ. Fold some hands preflop; you don’t need to be playing 50-80% of your hands. Ack!

But it’s hard to do much early on. The pots are almost all family limped pots. If I try to rep a big hand, someone is too likely to call down with an underpair. The first two or three I didn’t collect many points. I don’t know if I was too impatient or the tables just had too many calling stations. The last one I actually ITMed, though I sat out once it got to that point.

It’s much easier to collect points when the blinds rise as this is the point when people always tighten up, plus the table is shorter so there are fewer people in each pot.

Okay, before I get too much into what/how I should be doing, let’s look at what I have noticed so far, in terms of what I can or have done somewhat irregardless of how the tables play.

  • Players whose bet frequency is too high can be raised off hands, but, they are also dumb enough to be unwilling to give up if you’ve played at them before. This may be an indication of an aggression problem on their part as opposed to just a pot-stabbing approach.
  • Weak bets, as well as their callers, can be chased off with large raises
  • It sometimes takes 2 bets to convince the last caller to fold, but,
  • people at this level, either because they’re so weak or because it’s the only move they know, slow play all the time.
  • Because I have no idea what I hold, there’s not much point making three bets at a pot
  • Scare cards that appear on the turn or river, even if it makes no sense that I would bet/called to this point and have it, are good to bet at,
  • Betting at Aces is better the fewer players there are in the pot
  • If there are few players and I’m in the blind, I can bet at almost any flop
  • If there are 4 or more and I’m OOP, most flops I should wait to bet the turn to see if anyone shows interest, but then watch out for slowplayers. This presents a problem because as stated above sometimes it takes 2 bets to fold everyone so if I wait for the turn then I’ve only got one more bet I can make.

There are characteristics that I should keep in mind. The weak, limpy tables, the threat that I represent because I play so few hands (if anyone is paying attention), the inability of the players to fold weak, distant draws, and the general lack of knowledge of my opponents in terms of hand strength, bet sizing and tourney play.

I’m sucking down my play money balance with this exercise which makes me somewhat hesitant to take this to real money games. What I might do is wait until I earn my next tourney dollars and then use that to play the $1 real money tourneys blind. I may also decide to allow myself to see my cards when I ITM, much the same manner as I allowed myself to start calling when I ITMed in the bet/raise/fold exercise.

Leave a Reply

