h1

$10NL Player characteristics

January 11, 2008

Here’s something I’ve been working on lately. I’ve been looking for some categorization, some analysis of characteristics to note of the players that I’ve been playing against.

The internet is full of descriptions of the four basic styles (TAG, Maniac, Calling station, Rock) but this is not enough. I keep individual notes on players given specific hands and the way that they were played, and leave it to myself to read these notes and then to interpret them as I play, but in the back of my mind I’ve been collecting certain aspects or traits that certain players have.

characteristics.gif

There’s some duplication and overlap, but that’s fine. I’ll probably revise this over time, but the main thing is to collect things that I’ve seen. For the most part, these are mistakes or weaknesses but I haven’t tried to see them as such, I’m just looking for characteristics that will explain to me what they might have when they bet, call, or raise, or what reactions I might expect when I bet or raise.

There’s also little attempt made to detail how to play these players. Partly this is due to my focus on just characteristics, but also because for the most part I have an idea how to play them, as long as I know their traits given the situation at hand.

Leave a Reply

